Riverside House is a charming and enigmatic site that is nestled between the River Stour and the Stourbridge Canal and close to the town centre. The site includes woodland, public open space, a grade II listed house with its walled garden, grade II listed workshops, a dry dock and narrow boat basin.
The ironworks consisted of forges, fineries, rolling-mills and foundries which transformed pig iron into casted and wrought iron products. Wrought iron being, at that time, the most widely used form of iron product. In its heyday, the forge and ironworks conglomerate employed 600 people.
The dry dock and canal boat basin entrances
The Stourbridge Lion in the USA
Mid nineteenth century etching of the Iron works in its heyday
‘A Wintry Blast on the Stourbridge Canal’ 1890. By Frank Short and courtesy of Simon Meddings. The image is in reverse
Feature from the bridge over the entrance to canal boat basin
Historically, the ironworks on the site, that being the Stourbridge Ironworks and the later partnership of The Foster and Rastrick foundry, located next door, are of great importance, both nationally and internationally.Kate Churchill archaeologist
Riverside House have also adopted the towpath from Canal & River Trust and will be renovating this historically significant section of the canal which includes the entrances to the dry dock, canal basins and crane base.